Friends, Enemies, and Internet Losers: I have returned.

I love mail

Okay, so it’s really convenient to be able to push a button and have the picture of your baby throwing up on the cat be sent to everyone you know instantaneously, but I still like getting mail. I got this the other day:

(Damn good CD, by the way. Review to follow soon)

You may notice that the address says “King of West Vancouver.” I blog about this from time to time because, apparently, my ego knows no bounds, but in 1994 I recieved my letter from The Smugglers’ Fan Club and it was addressed to: Baron Cameron, King of West Vancouver. The fact that it arrived at my address sets the precedent that I am, in fact, the King of West Vancouver.

Now, the King thing is a bit of a joke but I still like to point out that even though Grant Lawrence started it 16 years ago, when I tell people that’s my address, that’s how they send it. My friends are just as nuts as I am and I love it. My personal favourite was one addressed to “Reverend Doctor Baron S. Cameron.” I’m an ordained minister of the Universal Life Church so, along with King of West Vancouver, it is actually my proper title.

Even if your letters don’t denote you as royalty, they’re still more fun than email. So if you feel like sending me a letter, I’ll send you my address. Which reminds me, I owe Jane and Lexi letters…

Jane (secret awesome heroine of this blog) sent me a puzzle letter the other day… kicks ass. Try sending someone a real puzzle by email! Can’t do it! So, buy a stamp and send someone a letter. You can imagine how you’ll brighten their day when their daily routine is broken.

“Bill, bill, bill, bi… Hey! A letter!” They’ll love you for it. Trust me!

2 responses

  1. jane

    Sending is just as much fun as receiving!

    January 24, 2010 at 13:48

  2. Elana

    It’s why I still have pen pals in my mid-30’s. It’s also why I like to send people random stuff.

    Real mail = love

    January 24, 2010 at 16:57

Leave a Reply

