Friends, Enemies, and Internet Losers: I have returned.

Is that what you're really trying to say (or ask for that matter)?

Diction: it is how we enunciate our words but also how we choose them. Or, more specifically, the manner in which and reason why we choose them. When studying business and professional writing, the importance of diction is stressed because picking a word that isn’t quite right can be devastating to a document, especially when someone else’s lawyer finds a way to interpret your document differently because of it. I don’t write memos for the White House but even as a blogger I need to be careful of the words I choose.

Internet search engines search for phrases or the words that make up those phrases. So, if your site contains the words “Glenn Beck,” “shit,” and “piece,” when someone searches “Glenn Beck is a peice of shit” guess whose site is going to pop up on Google. Tagging an entry does this deliberately but search engines will connect the dots.

When I check out my blog’s stats page, I always take a look over the search engine terms that brought people to my site. Here are some of my favourites so far:

“how to make a humane fox trap”

“indian hairy bears videos using you tube”

“letter to puff” (wtf?)

“fellatio caught on camera”

and finally…

“bree olson gangbanged”

“Baron S. Cameron” has been searched several times which I find interesting. It was actually because of Google that I starting using the “S.” My middle name is Stuart, and it didn’t hurt that two of my favourite writers are William S. Burroughs and Hunter S. Thompson, but Google was the main reason. The 17th Earl of Fairfax (Virginia) was Baron Cameron. Except in his case, Baron was his title, not his name. In Reston, VA, you can find a Baron Cameron Blvd, Baron Cameron Park, etc… When you search Baron Cameron on Google you get dog park regulations, soccer scores, and a couple of my YouTube videos. So I added the “S.”

Another thing of interest that was pointed out to me by Slate.com is, now that Google offers suggestions for your search based on the most popular searches, you can see what kind of things people are searching for on Google. Try this. Go to Google.ca and type “Is it wrong to” into the search box. Some of the most popular searches are actually kind of funny. Next, type “Is it ethical to” into the search box. It is an interesting to see the difference between “wrong” and “ethical” as far as Google users are concerned. Finally, type in “Is it moral to” and it’s a whole new ballgame.

Lastly, my friend Diana pointed out that if you type in “Geeks can’t…” nothing comes up. Leaving one to infer that geeks can do pretty much anything (on Google search engines at least).

Leave a Reply

