Friends, Enemies, and Internet Losers: I have returned.

Love: Jane, Brad, and the Flaming Polar Bear

My friend, Jane Sawyer, kicks ass. She sent me a note a while back containing a quote from Goethe. Can’t remember the exact quote; fuck Goethe anyway; we’re talking about Jane here. The point is she was saying that hesitation gets you nowhere. Actually, Jane would never be that tautological but you get the idea. She said that the act of committing yourself, in itself, opens a universe of possibilities. She was right. Goethe who? Of course this also means that, should my burgeoning relationship end in disaster, I won’t be blaming Goethe…

So I have added a new song to the jogging playlist on my iPod: “Gimme Sympathy” by Metric.

Beyond the joggable beat, there seems to be something in the lyrics that applies to my particular situation[s] and helps with “wall breaking” while I’m out there running. Incidentally, so does thinking that Brad Pitt was 35-36 when he made Fight Club.

Get hot
Get too close to the flame
Wild open space
Talk like an open book
Sign me up
Got no time to take a picture
I’ll remember someday
All the chances we took

We’re so close to something better left unknown
We’re so close to something better left unknown

I can feel it in my bones
Gimme sympathy
After all this is gone
Who would you rather be
The Beatles or The Rolling Stones?
Oh seriously
You’re gonna make mistakes you’re young
Come on baby play me something,
Like here comes the sun

Don’t go
Stay with the all unknown
Stay away from the hooks
All the chances we took

*Author’s note:

I am running out of places to look for original bear pictures. I am considering breaking it down into 5 or so “emotibears” (happy, sad, glad, embarrassed, etc) but don’t need to if any one of my ten readers out there would prefer I continue to hunt for blog specific pictures. Because it’s not that often I write “get too close to the flame” and then find a picture of a burnt Polar Bear… oh, wait…

Let me know,

BSC

DG004092

Leave a Reply

