Friends, Enemies, and Internet Losers: I have returned.

Channel Surfing

Sometimes it’s hard to watch TV these days. It has been years since I have been a passive viewer, just letting things wash over me. But even though active viewing allows me to watch TV with far more positive impact and actual enjoyment, there are just some days you wish you’d just turned the box off rather than change the channel.
Last night I was watching an amazing piece of TV on PBS called “A View from Space with Heavenly Music”. It was a montage of film clips, shot by astronauts on the shuttle, and put to classical music. It is amazing. Mind-blowing, sweeping shots from space with no killing, no hatred, no borders, no colours, no cultures, just our planet as an indifferent alien would view it. I always find pieces like this to be calming and peaceful and they always put a smile on my face and, sometimes, a tear in my eye.
Then I changed the channel just in time to see the remains, believed to be those of Victoria Stafford, placed into a hearse and driven past two, saluting, Ontario police officers. She grew up in a world with killings. That did bring a tear to my eye.
The world I saw on the first channel does exist and can be the world we all enjoy. The world I saw on the second also exists, but unlike the first, it doesn’t have to.
Rest in peace Victoria.

unhappy

Leave a Reply

