Friends, Enemies, and Internet Losers: I have returned.

The Restart

All of us, at one time or another, experience the “Restart”.

By “Restart”, I do not mean going back to the beginning but restarting from a pause your life has taken. Most of us have taken a few minutes too long on lunch and really can’t get back into work again; that is the restart.

For me, this current restart is due to the death of a friend. For others, the restart can be the result of a marriage on the rocks, the loss of a job, moving to a new neighbourhood. I’ve found that the easiest way to successfully restart is to take stock of what you have. Too often, we waste time, energy, and emotion on that which we do not have and live unfulfilled lives because of it.

I spent the past weekend in Pemberton, BC, with good friends, beautiful vistas, and more than a couple beers. I sat in a natural hotspring while the mist and rain caressed the forest around me. I played to with two wonderful children as though I were a child myself. My friends knew I was hurting and they helped me out. There was nothing they could do to bring my friend back to life; nor were they surgeons who could alleviate the problems of another friend. But they did do something very important: they let me know, beyond the shadow of a doubt, that life goes on with good friends at your side.

While I was in Pemberton, I shot video and took pictures of everything. My friend’s young daughter wondered why I was doing so. I thought to myself that when you live in a place where it is too loud to hear the crickets, too bright to see the stars, it is good to take pictures. But beyond the pictures, when you return to your regular life, the memories of your exeriences live on with you as you stand and restart from where you left off.

BSC.

Leave a Reply

